A Personal Journey

So, I’m not really one to process through writing. I’m much more of a talker ;). However, I’ve been reflecting on something lately and it seemed appropriate to write about it here.

Not too long ago, someone I admire greatly, made a comment about my work. She said she liked how I made my customers take a personal journey to get the right sling for them. I guess I had never really thought of it that way, it was just what came naturally, to encourage people to think of something significant. For me, it’s satisfying to know that the love I pour into my work really means something to the receiver. This is a big part of why I love what I do. Now don’t get me wrong, I like cute, fun stuff as much as the next person and really, liking something just because you do, has a lot of value as well. For example, stars are fairly basic, however they are something that mean a lot to me, obviously. My very first appliqué was a star (and it looked terrible! LOL!)

So back to the personal journey stuff. This all got me thinking about my personal journey…because I have no sling with an amazing story appliqué, believe it or not. I don’t even know if I could think of something for myself… That is what made me realize that creating these appliqués is my personal journey. It isn’t always easy, but it is always rewarding. I find myself struggling sometimes, resisting certain things or aspect of some appliqué. But I have always risen to the challenge. I’ve never given up halfway. And I fall in love with what I created each time, no matter what. It forces me to say regularly, “Yes! I can do this!” and then “Wow! I did that!?!” And I’m thankful for all of it.. the ups and downs, everything. Because I used to be a quitter..if something was too hard, I’d give up. Sewing is the first thing that I haven’t given up on. Well, that and mothering but that’s a way bigger, different topic, lol.

Each sling is a personal journey for me.. sometimes I’m humming along with my machine, other times, standing idle wondering “Hmmm, how can I make this work.” But always, at the end, I’m smiling and thinking of the sweet snuggles to come.

So come with me, whether it’s something that warms your heart, brings tears to your eyes, or simply makes you and you little one smile, come with me.. on a personal journey.

Leave a Reply

